Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Areas of Learning


Key Workers

Each child starting the playgroup will be assigned their own key worker. The key worker will keep you informed on your child’s progress and be responsible for completing their Learning Journey and transition record which will be passed on to school.  You are free to see your child’s Learning Journey at any time.

The Learning Journey will include observations on your child, post-it-notes, photographs and pieces of their own work for you to enjoy. They are linked to the Early Years Foundation Stage areas of learning and development which are listed below:

Prime Areas

1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Making relationships
  • Self-confidence and self awareness
  • Managing feelings and behaviour

2. Physical Development

  • Moving and handling
  • Health and self-care

3.  Communication and Language

  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking

Specific Areas

4.  Literacy

  • Reading
  • Writing

5.  Mathematics

  • Numbers
  • Shape, space and measure

6.  Understanding the World

  • People and communities
  • The world
  • Technology

7.  Expressive Arts and Design

  • Exploring and using media and materials
  • Being imaginative


Each area of learning has a different Development Statement which allows you to see which age group your child is working towards. For example we will have children working between the following age groups: 16 – 24 months, 22 – 36 months, 30 – 50 months, and 40 – 60 months.

The planned activities will be displayed daily in the entrance hall.